Rise of the Sparrows by Sarina Langer

Blurb:

Rifarne is a country opposed to magic. When its people demand harsh action, King Aeric sees himself with no other choice but to outlaw those with the gift. Rachael, a homeless orphan with the rare gift of a Seer, soon finds herself with visions of her own violent death. When her escape goes wrong and she ends up in the clutches of a vicious Mist Woman lusting for her blood, she finds she is the only person to stop the war against people like her – and assassinating the King to become Queen to a people who once wanted her dead may well be the only way to do just that.

My thoughts:

I had the great fortune of being offered the chance to read an ARC of Rise of the Sparrows but unfortunately I was so swamped I never got around to my duties in time. Then, fortune struck again, and I won a paperback version of the book to my delight. I then made it my mission to read it there and then. 

I really enjoyed this novel. The pacing was terrific with the build up of characters, first meeting the villain of the story and building up to the characters that I soon would love. I liked the tension between characters and the human nature of each. The actions of the characters and the way they dealt with conflict was superbly.

The story was well structured, the characters were likeable even though at times I was unsure if I should like them or not. Sarina added an extra layer of depth to the story with the great detail and beautiful descriptions. There were also some characters I would have loved to see more of but the balance was enough to keep me happy.

I never wanted the story to end and it left me salivating for more. Really can’t wait for book two and to get my teeth sunk into it.

If you are looking for a fantasy novel then this is one that you should definitely get your hands on. 

My rating for this novel:  5 out of 5 Pandas


Get this novel from Amazon in either paperback or kindle edition: Click here

I hope you enjoyed the post. Look forward to future posts coming up very shortly.

Have a great day all. 

5 thoughts on “Rise of the Sparrows by Sarina Langer

Leave a Reply

