Writing Corner – An interview with Lexi Lefevre 

Good morning and happy Wednesday all.

This is the second edition to Writing Corner and have another amazing guest for you. She is funny, witty and loves food but is also a writer that is soon to be published. Oh yeah, and she is Canadian too which I give two thumbs up too. 


Lexi Lefevre is a Canadian writer. She graduated as a top student in her class for Business Management, and is now pursuing a career in literature. Her 1st novel in a YA Fantasy series is scheduled for publication in August 2016. Lexi uses her free time to tend to her reading addiction, and scours particular shops for all things Harry Potter

Welcome to Writing Corner and thank you for allowing me to gossip with you. Have you been keeping well? Any news on the Canadian front?

Thanks for having me! I’ve been well. Things have been pretty normal in my part of Canada.

When did you first get into the writing habit and what was the first story you ever wrote?

I got into the habit of writing stories a couple of years ago. Before that, I mainly wrote songs. Although, I did write fairy tales when I was about 6 or 7 years old. Does that count?

I don’t remember the first one I ever wrote. I vaguely remember frogs being involved.

You are getting set to release a novel this year, what can we expect from it? What genre would you place it in?

You can expect angels, demons, hunters, and creatures of the night. I injected some humour into the story, but it’ll get darker as it moves along. Since it’s the first in a series, I kept it as light as I could. It’s a YA Urban Fantasy.

What inspired you to write this certain story?

I was really into YA Fantasies where angels were the main characters, at the time. It felt refreshing after the vampire craze that was at its height when I was in high school.

So, as I was reading series after series, I started getting a bunch of ideas. What if this happened? What if that happened? What if they were killed this way, instead? I began wondering how my friends and I would have reacted in certain situations if we were characters in a novel. Thus, I modeled most of the characters after people I know, and wrote a story I wanted to read.

When can we expect it to be available and what formats are you looking to publish it in?

You can expect it to be published sometime in the middle of August. It’ll be available in .mobi, .epub, paperback, and hardcover. However, the physical copies may not be available until a little later this year, as I’m still working out the details of the covers with an artist friend.

Please can you share one line from the novel to give us a glimpse into it?

I actually tweeted a line from my novel, but disguised it as a regular tweet. “There will always be light.” It’s something that provides great comfort to the protagonist: Aria.

I know you experienced problems by losing a lot of data. How did you find rewriting it? And what other frustrations did you experience?

Writing it all over again wasn’t a magical experience, unfortunately. I was so happy with the way so many scenes were written, I remember thinking a couple of them didn’t even need to go through rewrites. They just needed some light editing. What I am happy about is how my writing has progressed. I grew up reading older Fantasy novels, and people think that kind of storytelling is wordy, nowadays. That definitely showed when I got into writing again. Now, things are more concise. Some parts of my novel sound better than what I lost.

Do you have a muse or an activity that inspires you to write?

I gain inspiration from almost everything. I could be staring a sweater, and suddenly come up with a village for my characters to live in, just from the colour.

What written piece of work are you most proud of?
I’m most proud of an MG Fantasy I began more recently. I was watching a movie, and got the idea for an entire world from the smallest detail.

What is your writing schedule? Do you have one?

I don’t have a set schedule. I just try to write for at least an hour a day, but once I start, it’s hard to stop.

Favourite spot to write?

Writing at home is the best. It’s quieter. I’ll only work at a coffee shop if I’m world building.

Are you a plotter or a pantser?

I’m both, but I tend to lean more towards a pantser. (Who came up with that? It sounds like we like to pull people’s pants down for fun. Although I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t tempted whenever a guy walked past me with his jeans sagging halfway down his thighs.)

*Note: I agree. When I first heard panster I thought the same or they ran around with a pair of pants (briefs or knickers) over their head. This also was discussed in a separate conversation around names that sound much better when you don’t know the meaning of things – in one case, I explained to Lexi that not many people know why Spotted Dick is called that. I could explain to her why Sausages are called bangers though. In both of them, it was better off surmising our own meanings behind them.

How do people find out about Lexi?

They can catch me on Twitter. I don’t bite. We don’t know where those hands have been. @LexilsAWriter 

——-

This next section I like to call World without words or life without love? I Would like to ask you random questions and for you to answer with the first thing that pops into your head.

Favourite genre?

Fantasy

Favourite author of said genre?

It’s a mix between J.K. Rowling and Neil Gaiman.

Novel or anthology?

Novel

Musical inspiration?

Aurora (amazing Norwegian artist), Bring Me the Horizon (Sempiternal album and Suicide Season album. They’re English.), Silverstein (Discovering the Waterfront album. Canadian!).

Chess or Risk?

Neither – Scrabble

Favourite or favorite?

Favourite

Bae or Brah?

AL. WHY??? We’ve talked about this. xD Brah.

*Note: I didn’t like asking the above question as I hate both of these words…the thing that made it worth it is that these are similar words that annoy Lexi a little bit more 🙂

Oldest profession in the world?

I don’t know. I imagine it’s something we’d think is ridiculous now. Something like food chewer for the wealthy. By wealthy, I mean the cavemen who caught the most animals for dinner.

(I believe it to be prostitution.)

Coke or Pepsi?

If they’re in glass bottles, both, ’cause I’m spoiled. xD

Pizza with double cheese or garlic bread with double cheese?

BOTH. You don’t make Lexi choose between cheesy garlic bread and over-cheesed pizza.

Chocolate fondue or Jelly Bellies?

Jelly Bellies!!!!!!!!!

Biscuits or cake?

Cake

Fill in the blanks: I never knew how hard to __________ when playing with _____________. I watched Andy from Chelsea do it and ________ made it look simple. I never liked that __________ anyway. 

I never knew how hard to goat when playing with llamas. I watched Andy from Chelsea do it and they made it look simple. I never liked that teacup anyway.

And finally…..

World without words or life without love?
World without words. Humans thrive on love. We can easily express that without words. It’d be one of the saddest things in the world if we couldn’t love.

Lexi will return next week on another blog post where we talk random words and meanings. Keep your eyes peeled.

If you are interested in being a guest on Writing Corner, please contact me either on comment or my Twitter @nobodyetall and I would love to hear from you. 

9 thoughts on “Writing Corner – An interview with Lexi Lefevre 

Leave a Reply

