EVO Nation by KJ Chapman 

Hello readers.

I recently had the pleasure and fortune of reading EVO Nation, the first book in the EVO Nation series. Due to my work load and busy schedule, it took me awhile to get around to this book, but once I did, I was hooked. 


Blurb:

The government tortures her, her own kind use her, and she is learning the true meaning of ulterior motives. Teddie Leason has been dragged into the festering underbelly of the secretive world of EVO; a world about to be blown wide apart. 

EVO are the next link in evolution, but with that title come the dangers of capture, torture, and experimentation. And with that threat come the need to survive, and a breed of EVO who are set to not only thrive, but rule. 

Teddie has the fate of the EVO and Non-EVO world resting on her shoulders, and now, the reclusive teenager who couldn’t get upset without her unruly ability causing destruction, has to somehow embrace her gift to save her new friends and her new love. 

Will the actions of one man fuel a suppressed, supremacist cult’s desire for war and vengeance, or will Teddie be strong enough to stop him? Should she stop him? 

My thoughts:

Where do I start? I guess at the beginning. 

I had been an admirer of KJ Chapman’s stories that were posted on her blog as well her musings and tips. When I realised that she had released a book I needed to read it. And boy, I’m glad I did.

EVO Nation follows the tumultuous journey of Teddie Leason, a girl with telekinetic abilities. It starts off action packed, pushing her into unforeseen predicaments and challenges, and from the very get go I felt for the character. Through the brilliant and vivid storytelling, the characters that Teddie met along the way were met with different emotions. 
The antagonists were so brutal and cruel (in some cases clever and wily) that they left a bitter taste in my mouth that made my desire for Teddie overcome the odds even greater. The antagonists were not one dimensional, but written in a way that showed their flaws and courageous attitude which made them even more human, even if they did have evolved abilities.
The writing was strong, the characters well developed and the story flowed at a quick pace which left me breathless. I cannot wait to read EVO Shift, the second book in what looks to be an amazing trilogy. I shall leave you with this – due to my hectic work pattern, unfortunately I could not get around to reading everyday. However, a weekend previous I had around around 60% left of the book to read. This was completely devoured less than 12 hours later. My better half was so concerned with me that she had to ask if I was okay, saying the story I was reading had me so engrossed that I had lost touch with my surroundings. That is how good this book is. 

Hyperactive Pandemonium recommends this book. Buy it now!


Here is additional information around KJ Chapman.

Click here for EVO Nation on Amazon
Click here for EVO Shift on Amazon 
Click here for Prompt Me: 150 Writing Prompts for beating the block on Amazon

Also catch up with her blog: KJ Chapman 
Twitter: @KJ86CHAPMAN
Instagram: KJ Chapman 

6 thoughts on “EVO Nation by KJ Chapman 

Leave a Reply

