A novel anthem – Pick up the Bones

  
I have been reading blogs and speaking to others around music and playlists helping with ideas for stories and some adding the perfect backdrop.

I dived into some songs I knew would be great inspiration for the second novel in the Sibling saga and looked at bands ranging from Linkin Park to Marilyn Manson before an idea hit. 

In 2000, Alice Cooper released an amazing album entitled Brutal Planet. It was atmospheric, haunting, lyrically brilliant and has stuck with me for sixteen years. Then I chose the song that is my favourite on the whole album – Pick up the bones.

It’s ghostly tune and raw vocals just add to the great lyrics, and as soon as I started I got goosebumps and realised that a story needs to be told in a perspective of a character that in the first you don’t know much about. I don’t want to give much away but this got me excited. I have added the lyrics below but if you get chance I recommend checking it out.

Pick up the Bones

Collecting pieces of my family
In an old pillow case
This one has a skull
But it don’t have a face

These look like the arms of father so strong
And the ring on this finger
Means my Grandmother’s gone
Here’s some legs in a pile
Where my sister once played
Here’s some mud made of blood
And these teeth are decayed
The ear of my brother
The hand of a friend
And I just can’t
Put them back together again

Pick up the bones
And set them on fire
Follow the smoke going higher and higher
Pick up the bones
And wish them goodnight
Pray them a prayer and turn out the light
There are stains on the floor
Where the kitchen once stood
There are ribs in the fireplace
Mixed with the wood
There are forces in the air
Ghosts in the wind
Some bullets in the back
And some scars on the skin


There were demons with guns
Who marched through this place

Killing everything that breathed
They’re an inhuman race

There are holes in the walls
Bloody hair on the bricks
And the smell of this hell
Is making me sick

Pick up the bones
And set them on fire
Follow the smoke going higher and higher

Pick up the bones
And wish them goodnight
Pray them a prayer and turn out the light


Pick up the bones
And set them on fire
Follow the smoke going higher and higher

Pick up the bones
And wish them goodnight
Pray them a prayer and turn out the light

Now maybe someday
The suns gonna shine
Flowers will bloom
And all will be fine


But nothing will grow
On this burnt cursed ground
Cuz the breath of the death

Is the only sound

9 thoughts on “A novel anthem – Pick up the Bones

  1. I’ve never heard this song before today, but it’s amazing and it has me wondering all about the next book. I’ll just listen to it a few more times while I work through my current Siblings withdrawal… 🙂
    Thanks for sharing it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

