Contorted

 Good evening!

I mentioned on Sunday I would attempt a post near enough each day so have decided to blog at this late hour. 

Whilst on my break, I had enough of thinking of ideas for a cover page for my upcoming novel, and instead chose to prompt myself to write. I used two techniques (this one and another I shall elaborate on in a later post).

For this post, I selected a song in my playlist at random and listened. The song in question that came up, was Life is Beautiful by Sixx Am. I love this song and have listened to it many times in the past. The album it is from is called Heroin Diaries, and relates to the book with the same name by the amazing bassist Nikki Sixx.

If you haven’t heard this song before I suggest checking it out. Life is Beautiful

Anyway, the idea was to listen to it, and then after, immediately write. So the following short short short story was written with inspiration from the song. Personally, it’s the strangest thing I have written, and don’t think relates to the song that much, but subconsciously, I think if this story goes further it has a link. Hope you enjoy! 

Contorted 

Nothing….
Nothing….
Beep. Beep. Beep.
Darkness. A low hum of mechanics starting, shifting into gear and cogs interlocking. The taste of metal, sweet and bitter, lingered. A touch of cold sheeting, smooth but unnatural. Pain. Intense pain shooting through wires and fittings, clamping and tightening. There was no reprieve. 
Brightness, burning. Vision misty and disorientated. A face, of sorts, pink flesh, contorted. Full red lips, twisted into a smile. They moved, but no sound. Except for the low hum of mechanics. The pain, the intensity.
The need to punish.
i>Darkness.
Beep. Beep. Beep.
Nothing.
Nothing.

The operation room was white. There was little need for furnishings with the exception of the metal slab erected in the centre of the room and a metal mobile unit with a keypad and monitor placed next to it. 
Ginger, the lead Physician, scanned over the subject with glee. It had been several months in the making but their time was now. Their time to unleash a new soldier into the world. Their time, for dominance. 
Ginger stepped back, eyeing the metal bulk on the slab, it’s mechanical limbs limp and useless. For now. But there had been life. The power switch had been activated and there were signs of robotic life. 
The project had been ambitious; the transfer of a notorious psychopaths mind into a machine. It was unheard of. There were doubters, there would always be. But now there was evidence of recognition. 
Little by little, it would be activated. Little by little, it would have time to adjust. A time, in the not so distant future, it would be ready. 
And then. 
Destruction.


12 thoughts on “Contorted

  1. So intriguing and so very well written! What a brilliantly written piece. Not that I’m surprised πŸ˜‰
    I really love the concept that you have used here. Song prompts are such a great way to get inspired! I think I might just try that tactic more myself πŸ™‚
    Thanks for sharing your talent πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

