The little things…that make things better…

  
 
As you mad have seen from an earlier post, I have not been feeling up to my best, whining about the ‘flu’ that has been going around family member to family member until it sunk its pointy teeth into my neck and drained the enthusiasm from my body and replaced it with a bug.I am getting better and now can fully function (at times, I may cough, sneeze, and other unhealthy habits) but I am on the mend. This got me thinking about what makes me feel better in times of sickness, what perks me up besides my family members encouraging me to get better and my lovely Twitter and blogger friends that are always there to say hello or something nice πŸ™‚ That is how this post came about.

Tea

I have said before and will say it again, I love tea. Nothing helps me in the morning when I feel rough than the heavenly strong tea, little milk, delight sliding down my throat and warming me up.

Cat and Guinea Pigs

Our cat Ruby was a rescue, and never seemed too fond of sitting on laps at first. But times have changed and now she adores sitting on laps or just being close, and nothing feels quite as good as nodding off and waking up to find your lap all cosy and warm from a cat.

A shout out must occur for the Guinea Pigs that also demand attention to squeak their encouragement of ‘get better now you wuss, we need to be fed’ and other obscenities. 

Lush Bath

I love a hot bubble bath. It’s nice to relax and soak away those aches and pains with hot water and a lush bath bomb or other treat. Currently my choice is Red lush putty that smells delightful and leaves me feeling like I can take on the world. Note: I couldn’t do that healthy, let alone sick. Just saying.

Reading

Books had to be. I love reading and when it comes to feeling down in the dumps, I love to pull a blanket over me and get lost in a book. This week just gone I have been flitting between three books. 

1. Evo Nation by KJ Chapman – Yes I am behind the times and need to catch up – and that is what I am doing. Out of the three, this story has taken centre stage. I am hooked by the narration and once a chapter ends, I want to continue reading. Superb so far but just need to continue to read!

2. Ahsley Bell by Dean Koontz – I was hooked on this but then saw the above title on TBR list and flitted to that, and unfortunately this will now have to wait in the wings, but cannot wait to continue.

3. Bazaar of bad dreams by Stephen King – A selection of short stories that I am finding brilliant but can be nice to come back to.

Editing

Yes, I couldn’t believe this. I attempted editing again yesterday and to my surprise it worked a treat. I got lost in the words I was editing and changed a few key sections and was proud of my rewrite. I may need to re-read just incase my mind was blurred by the cold.

Television 

I generally don’t watch my television as it appears, but choose box sets or films to watch. This week, we are on Season Five of House and also caught up with The Night Manager. Oh, and lots of Disney films including The Lion King.

And last but not least….

Fruit

I love fruit. Blackberries. Raspberries. Grapes. Pineapple. They make me feel better and leaving me full when I would usually pig out even more.

Honourable mentions go to…

Kleenex tissues – the soft kind, Coffee, Cough sweets, Cold and flu tablets, the bed, the duvet and sleep (whatever that is.)

It would be interesting to hear what makes you feel better, so if you fancy sharing, please do πŸ™‚ 




12 thoughts on “The little things…that make things better…

  1. Glad to hear you’re on the mend. Nice to have people take care of you when you’re ill.
    My pets get attentive as well when I’m sick with Lucy refusing to leave the bed and Charlotte, my dog, guarding my bedroom making sure no one disturbs me. I usually put on my ‘sick pjs’ and cuddle up with a book, blanket and tea and wait for the illness to pass. Also watch Princess Bride and binge what ever show I’m currently obsessed with.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m sorry to hear you’re not well, but I hope you feel better again very soon πŸ™‚ My cat works miracles when we’re not well, too. She was a rescue as well and was very shy at first (only last weekend she got scared of a tiny kitten and took a few careful steps back), but since she’s gotten used to us she’s been very in our face with her affection. She loves bathing us, especially noses, and tends to cuddle a lot, so I know all too well how much it helps!

    I love tea as well. Did you know, a bit of boiled ginger root kills sore throats in one cup? It burns, so badly, but it works. Who can argue with results? I haven’t had one in years, though, I prefer a hot milk with some honey. That works, too, if not as fast, but doesn’t taste like I’m swalloing acid. If you try you want to add some honey.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww your cat sounds super sweet and nice. Isn’t it rewarding when a cat can come from being a rescue and shy to all friendly and affectionate? Aww poor cat for backing away.
      I haven’t heard the ginger root recipe before and now am very tempting as I love ginger. Or are you attempting to burn my throat? Haha. Milk and honey sounds like a nice combination, and haven’t tried that before.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It is ❀ When we adopted her we were told that it might take her months to come out of hiding, and longer than before she gets used to us but she was climbing all over me the first night, and she explored the house on her first full day with us πŸ™‚ The shelter terrified her, she just needed a loving furrever home πŸ™‚

        I'm not sure how long you need to boil the ginger for, but let it run through a sieve when it's done and drink it with caution πŸ˜› It was my Mum's go-to recipe when I had a sore throat, and I hated the taste a lot. It works fast, though πŸ™‚

        Like

  3. Glad that you’re doing well πŸ™‚ It’s great to have people that care for you and that you have so many ways to help feel better! I know a good movie or book always helps me through down times: Princess Bride is top-notched, Beauty and the Beast, and then Harry Potter always brings a smile to my face!
    Great & inspired post πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

