Writers life – Can’t knock me down

    I have always known, deep in my heart, that I wanted to be a writer. Other occupations such as wrestler, footballer, end of the world saviour and chess grand master, flirted with me along the sidelines, but nothing cemented deep in my soul as much as writing did. It claimed me if you will.

Even though I looked forward to playing football for my school, competing in chess competitions and recorder practice, nothing willed me to school as much as reading day. I was the quiet introvert(I have not grown out of this nor will I ever) that would be teased by the girls and laughed at or beaten upby the boys. I had my stories though! 

Many of the kids had to borrow books from the library but I came armed with my own. Books such as Red Dwarfs Last Human and Stephen Kings Wizard and Glass were read during my school time (yes maybe I was a bit too young for Stephen King, but hey, I was an early bloomer). Unlike many of the other kids who would boast that there birthday and Christmas presents were computer games and other top devices back then. Mine were pretty simple. 

Notebooks, pens, pencils (when I was twelve I once cried that a pencil broke on the first day of using it, I thought it was the end of the world), books and films (VHS) filled my presents. I was ecstatic. 

Family members would worry about my tendency to write dark. I’m an optimistic and happy person, the majority of the time, so find the dark appealing to write. Also, it is fun. When my parents found that I wrote a story detailing an assassination with the gory details included, they feared for their ten year old. Still to this day they are worried about my writing and my love of dark stories and films. 

  
I have always been socially awkward. In my early twenties I use to go out for drinks a lot but was always nervous of it. Many of it the time spent lost in my own thoughts and the storylines floating my mind. Sitting and listening to the small talk. 

To me, writing is everything, with the exception of my family. Even though I have many doubters, (stop living in the clouds, you won’t be a writer. Just be grateful for the job you have. You don’t see ‘insert name here’ complaining about there life. They have a baby you know –just a few things I get told) I will thrive to my dying breath to be the best writer I can be. Be it a scriptwriter, a novelist, a blogger or tweeter, I have just come into my own and now can say I write. I’m a writer. Next stop. Successful writer! We are in this together and I will support anyone that shares a similar enthusiasm and goal.

So I have realised that I will continue to strive, pester and annoy with my daily tweets and random blogs. I thank all those who support me. I appreciate it beyond words. For the haters…..  

Just to brighten the mood a little. I have recently finished the Sibling novel and now at a deciding point. I have started my editing process, and my writing of a novella, but have another plan too. My first love other than writing a novel was scriptwriting. So this year I plan to write at least a feature length script and send it off. 

Should I allow the editing process be finished and novel released before starting this? Or shall I just see how much I can get written in between? Humm. Any tips? Advice?

Thank you so much for reading. If you have struggled or had similar issues please let me know. It’s nice to get things out and talk. 

19 thoughts on “Writers life – Can’t knock me down

  1. I think that you should do whatever you feel like whether it be to edit whilst writing or finish editing before writing or write before you edit. My advice, though, is to make sure you can handle it all at the same time because it’s often easy to lose yourself in one of them and forget about the other. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m sorry people have put you down about your passion. Its great that you fight for it despite what others think or say. I was bullied as a child and never had any friends for years, except my dog. I was always quite and kept to myself and didn’t want to follow others. Though I did start writing stories in my late teens, I didn’t want to be a writer until recently. I’m confused with the giveaway. Do you mean post the link where all these shows/movies are on the same page?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the response and reading πŸ™‚
      Sorry to hear you had a similar thing with bullying, it is never nice to go through.
      Sometimes pets are the closest things that we have as friends and their loyalty can help. Its nice to hear when you started to write too and that it can hit us anytime.
      Unfortunately I was let down on the giveaway section and feel irritated by it. I look to do something similar in the future and will give out the information around to this πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. If the script if calling to you then I’d recommend writing the script and edit Siblings when you’re done. Time away from a manuscript before editing is fantastic, it allows you to see it with fresh eyes.

    Your determination is sure to see you succeed, I do hope you get where you’re aiming for πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You’ve worked hard on all ‘fronts’ to your credit, so good for you (several times over!!)
    My own advice comes with a Writer’s Health Warning- Sometimes in my experience when you have more than one project pulling at you if concentrate on one, human nature being what it is you can find yourself rushing to get onto the others. It might be an idea to take a look at the works which are calling to you, and draw up a plan (not necessarily on paper, though that sometimes helps) so that you can give each a proportion of time and move forward on a broad front. This gives you the options to keep your mind fresh and also to change the time you spend on each, depending how your muse is working at that interlude.
    Hope that helps

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I enjoyed reading your advice and you make perfect sense. Planning could be a good way to look at the whole thing and put everything in perspective. I am not much of a planner and didn’t think about this in detail before. It certainly helped and thank you for taking the time to read and comment πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Your courage in the face of naysayers is inspirational. So much of what you described above resonates with me. I was always the quite and withdrawn one, curling up with my stories, escaping to my worlds and my characters. It was there that I found some great solace when others didn’t seem to understand. You are blessed by the brightest & purest of passions. Never stop pursuing that dream of yours!
    As to the question of whether or not to wait to write the script, my answer is always ‘follow your heart’. If the story is alive within you now, don’t squander it. A manuscript can always benefit from a good long break between edits. Whichever you choose, they are both bound to be brilliant πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to hear more about your screenplay!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. We were very similar, it sounds, growing up. Quiet introvert who would rather read and write than socialize. I never played video or computer games and always preferred books, art supplies, movies, etc. I was picked on so much for being different, I had to transfer school. It was a little bit better but still didn’t have any friends because I didn’t look or act the “popular way”. I was also the girl who’s friends would drag her to a bar or club and once everyone was distracted with their socializing, would pull out a book to read or jot down story ideas.
    But all of this just makes who I am. Everything positive and negative we’ve experienced makes us better and motivates us further.
    Who cares if the majority of people don’t understand/get who are or what you’re about, they don’t matter because you have plenty of people who care about you unconditionally. You’re brilliant and talented writer and an even more so, you’re an amazing person. I’ve no doubt you will achieve and exceed everything you’ve ever hoped for and dreamed about.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading and also commenting. It’s nice to hear other people’s own stories and similar experiences. It’s very similar indeed.
      Thank you for the kind words and praise. I don’t think I deserve it but it means so much. I am so grateful for knowing you πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Firstly, congrats on finishing the draft of The Siblings!!! Secondly, the best way to put any naysayer in their place is to do your thing anyway! Work your butt off, don’t lose sight of your goals, and perhaps, flip them the bird. The latter is optional, but highly recommended haha. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. You’re my kind of guy ^^
    Congrats on finishing the draft! Whether you start something new now or later depends on how much time you want to dedicate to your edit. I really wanted to start something new when I edited mine but I wanted to get the edit done, too, so the writing had to wait and it drove me up the wall! I think when I edit Book 2 I’ll have to keep one day a week free for writing πŸ™‚
    Keep being who you are, you don’t need to change anything for anyone.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I like reading your comments and insights. It sounds like a good idea to keep a day free for writing. I get lost in the moment when writing thanks to the editing process. I love working on the Sibling novel editing process but I do miss writing.
      Thank you for the strong words of encouragement. It means a lot πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

