#LGBT

  
Happy Friday one and all. This post is brought to you by a heterosexual male but covers the LGBT topic. Something happened awhile ago that annoyed me and wanted to share. 

A few weeks ago, I started to promote a twitter friends blog and writing, that concentrates on lesbian fiction. I find her writing to be well drawn out and engaging, so quoted her tweet and added #LGBT.

I thought nothing of it. I support freedom of speech, free will and everyone has a right to be themselves, no matter of the stigma that surrounds it. I’ve had many lesbian and bisexual friends and a few gay male friends.   

The next day I got asked by a friend, why did I attach the LGBT hashtag and what was I thinking of for including it. Am I worried people will think I am gay? Transgender?

  I am still shocked by the short sightedness of some people and the blinkers they fail to remove to see that the world has evolved to a state where everything that does not kill or harm should be welcomed. I will support any person, straight, gay, lesbian, cat, dog, dinosaur, on their endeavours as that is the type of person I am. I thrive to be successful but why should I put myself first all the time? 


I am not worried if using the hashtag brings people of that community to my account and will talk to pretty much anyone. What I am worried about is that the world still holds people that show judgments against certain types. I still have arguments with people where I support gay men to bring up children. There is not much difference of them raising kids than a man and women in doing so, just that they both are formed with the same parts.

I will continue to support writers of LGBT and non writers. Everyone has the right to be themselves and if you are part of this community continue to be awesome. Same with everyone! Be who you are!

In the next week I will be posting a review of sorts for the upcoming novel Mistress In Peril by the awesome H.K Morrison. I beta read the novel and wanted to share how much I enjoyed it and to promote it a bit more. Please keep an eye out for that and if you wish to check out her writing in the mean time, please find her on Twitter @TheArdentPen 

8 thoughts on “#LGBT

  1. Good sentiment to raise. LGBT communities is a good example. Folk are too quick to attach a label with their own prejudices and ignorance writ large (self included at times-working on it). Let us all try to work within a framework of Compassion, Respect and Tolerance (never said it was going to be easy).
    Keep up the good work

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a moving post! I am constantly affronted by the amount that people judge one another, treating each other as inferior because they share different beliefs. We are all entitled to be who we are, to believe in what we believe in, to love whom we choose to love, as long as we aren’t harming other people in the process. Thank you for sharing these beautiful words of encouragement and support. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved this post and I totally agree with everything you said.

    It’s hard being who you are in a society of prejudiced people. Everyone wants to judge you based on who you want to spend your life with. I don’t think that this will ever change. There will always be those people who don’t support LGBT+ people or think they’re going to Hell or should kill themselves or whatever they think about them. (Which is completely not okay and I don’t support it, but I’m just pointing out what other’s have said.)

    Thank you for making this post because people can be mean and others need to know that it’s okay to be who you are. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

