First Draft – The Siblings

  
So, it may been have a week later than I hoped but I am here, writing a second post of the day, telling you all, I completed the first draft of The Siblings!

  
It has taken two months and one week to write 70,000 plus words but I am happy with how the first draft played out. I know the parts I want to cut, tweak and leave so hopefully that will assist me with the editing process. There are also some name changes I will make to part characters as they clash with others. Does anyone else realise that half way through writing? Or do you have names planned out in advance? May help me in future projects πŸ™‚

  
I will take the next few days or more off from the story and allow it to marinate. So once I come back to it, I will have chance to recap and regroup from the last so many days and see it with fresh eyes. 

  
I will take the break to concentrate on reading (many books I have ignored and can’t wait to get lost in them), may get back on track with the blog posts and also relax. Oh, and I have also been completing Yoga workouts that I plan to getting to an intermediate stage on. 

  
I plan to have the editing parts completed by the end of this month and have a date set by then. Looking at the end of March. There may also be an opportunity to get a few advanced copies out there for those who may be interested πŸ™‚ 

In the meantime I look forward to checking out new music, new films and new material and stories and reading the blogs that I have ignored recently. *Holds head in shame*

I am happy with the outcome of the first draft and am invigorated by the feeling that I get to revisit these characters along with another two books to follow them. I will be worried how I will feel when the whole story concludes, until then I can look forward to meeting them again.

Thank you for reading, the continued support and I look forward to hearing your comments about the name question I threw in earlier. Also, how do you feel when the story you have been working hard on (oops, that sounds giggle worthy) for awhile comes to an end? If you fancy an in depth discussion you can always find me on Twitter @nobodyetall feel free to tweet or DM me πŸ™‚

Talk soon πŸ™‚

11 thoughts on “First Draft – The Siblings

  1. Congratulations! You deserve to celebrate with a break! You’ve accomplished an impressive feat and should be extremely proud of yourself. I’m so happy for you.
    I sometimes have names planned but a lot of times I do not and will grasp for something while writing and change it later. I once realized half way through a story my characters names rhymed which was not a great thing so had to change them. Names are tough for me unless the characters appear already named. I’m not sure if that answers your question or not. Sorry.
    What books do you plan on reading? Enjoy your time off πŸ™‚
    P.S. I giggled too ;p

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much πŸ™‚
      It is interesting to hear others that struggle or deal with character banes, The rhyming is a funny one and can easily appear πŸ™‚ It certainly answered the question.
      Not too sure which books to read and will have a look once home to see which one to dive into first.
      Thought you may have liked that and made you giggle ;P

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Yeah, character issues are always interesting topic, especially when it comes to naming them (mainly bc I suck so bad with that). The rhyming thing was a problem though–thank goodness for the ‘find and replace’ feature πŸ™‚
        It can be difficult deciding which book to read next…ahh, the life of a bookworm.
        You thought correct. You know me so well ;P

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Yah! Congrats on finishing it. Wow, You finished your first draft in two months. Mine dragged out for months because I kept coming up with new ideas. I don’t always have names planned. I will write a few scenes for the character first and then brainstorm names. Sometimes I have them right away. It depends.
    I know when my story comes to the end I will be sad but at the same time I will feel accomplished. But I’m writing a series so I get to spend a lot of time with the world and the same characters.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚
      The story flowed by so easily that it all fit into place. Character names I always have a problem with and like the brainstorming idea.
      Writing a series is great as you get a prolonged time with them πŸ™‚ I look forward to the accomplished feeling.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations, Al! I am ecstatic for you πŸ™‚ It’s a huge achievement to finish a whole draft, and two months is a most admirable time frame to finish it in! Take some well deserved time off to relax. Reading is always a great option for that πŸ˜‰ I wish you all the luck with the rest of your edits. I cannot wait to read the whole story.
    I am grateful to have met you through the blogosphere. I am inspired by your words and your talent and your support is always well appreciated in turn!
    I always feel that reaching the end of your work is a bittersweet moment. On one hand, it brings some melancholy because that story is ended, but then it also brings joy because a new story can be worked on. I also find with my Divided Draft that I’m excited to be finished with the first book because I want to move on to the next.
    Also, when it comes to names, I’ve changed a few of mine in my most recent draft. Also, Keira’s name was Leah for the first twenty pages or so, but I made the correction quickly when I was first writing it. Nowadays, I like to conceive of names before jumping in, mostly because I also do a full character outline at the same time. Those characters that throw themselves into the narrative as I’m writing get named in that moment. Most of time, they stick.
    Congrats again! And the best of luck to you πŸ™‚ You always have my support!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for reading and commenting. Also, your support is so much appreciated. I look forward to hearing from you as you are insightful.
      Its nice to hear that I am not alone with the character naming issue. I will also look forward to the next book that I will write as it means I will see some of the characters again πŸ™‚
      Thank you, as always πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re so kind! I’m glad to offer insight where I can, though that’s probably too kind a description. As always, I’m glad to share in your progress and to share mine in turn. It’s a pleasure to follow your path to becoming an author! And I look forward to reading your book when it’s ready πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

