The Siblings – Keep me in your heart for awhile 

  
This is an impromptu post. It came to me whilst in bed late at night, and as usual, when I can’t sleep I listen to songs and find it calming. 

I am coming to the culmination of the first draft of the Sibling Story. I have built a bond with the central characters; some I love, some I loathe and others that surprise me on a day to day basis. The last part of the story I am currently writing and finding it difficult to come terms with how things must end. It needs to be that way to progress the story along in to the next part. 

I found myself flicking through songs that I enjoy and looked up the video for Keep me in your heart for awhile by Warren Zevon. He was a brilliant singer and wrote the song as a kind of farewell when he found out he was terminally ill and it was the last song on his final album. It has been used in at least one tv show before and liked it instantly when I heard it then.

Listening to it over I realised it would be fitting for the climax of the Siblings for certain  characters involved. So found this opportunity to introduce you to the sound of Warren Zevon if you hadn’t heard him before and also to show you where I am at this point of the story. I am looking forward to finishing the first draft and editing, but also will be taking a short rest after the first draft is written. I will give an update on Saturday. The lyrics are below and it is worth a listen. 

  
             Keep me in your heart for awhile

Shadows are falling and I’m running out of breath
Keep me in your heart for awhile

If I leave you it doesn’t mean I love you any less
Keep me in your heart for awhile

When you get up in the morning and you see that crazy sun
Keep me in your heart for awhile

There’s a train leaving nightly called when all is said and done
Keep me in your heart for awhile

Sha-la-la-la-la-la-la-li-li-lo
Keep me in your heart for awhile
Sha-la-la-la-la-la-la-li-li-lo
Keep me in your heart for awhile

Sometimes when you’re doing simple things around the house
Maybe you’ll think of me and smile
You know I’m tied to you like the buttons on your blouse
Keep me in your heart for awhile

Hold me in your thoughts, take me to your dreams
Touch me as I fall into view
When the winter comes keep the fires lit


And I will be right next to you
Engine driver’s headed north to Pleasant Stream

Keep me in your heart for awhile
These wheels keep turning but they’re running out of steam

Keep me in your heart for awhile
Sha-la-la-la-la-la-la-li-li-lo
Keep me in your heart for awhile
Sha-la-la-la-la-la-la-li-li-lo
Keep me in your heart for awhile
Keep me in your heart for awhile

11 thoughts on “The Siblings – Keep me in your heart for awhile 

  1. I’d never heard this song before, but I listened to it and it was so touching and I can see what you’re talking about. I’m so excited for you to get done with you story so that I can read it! I loved the first few chapters you already have up and have been waiting…and waiting…and waiting. It seems like forever but it’s actually only been a month or two. 😛

    I’m so happy for you and I can see that you’re having a good time with it, which is all that matters. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Question: is your book going to come with tissues? Asking for a friend ;P
    This is a beautiful song and the lyrics are so poignant. Music calms me, as well, when I can’t sleep.
    I’m excited to see how it ties in with the ending of your story. (Well, not ‘excited’ if it means someone is dying but you know what I mean.) Can’t tell you enough, how much thrilled I am for you and your story. I’m thankful you’re a fast writer because I don’t think I could wait a super long time to read it….I may or may not have issues with being impatient–but that’s just between you and me 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m listening to the song while I’m writing this reply. What a gorgeous song! I already have tears in my eyes. It’s amazing how music can affect us. The story behind the song is tragic as well. It resonates somewhat with me too, for one of the stories I’ve written. I cannot wait to read your story. I was so captivated by what you’ve already shared. You inspire with your passion. Best of luck in these final stages 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

