Song of the week

  
Hello all.

As previously mentioned on my Monday lost, I will be splitting Word of the Week and Song of the Week up. As usual the song of the week for me is from a band that is not new but an oldie. They are Hanoi Rocks. 

  
The song that I have chosen is Street Poetry off the album with the same name. I was introduced to this Finnish band over eight years ago and recall seeing one of their farewell gigs in London on Halloween in 2008.

It is a band I listen to this day and this song inspires me to continue writing no matter what. There have been people, mainly in the past, that have attempted to derail my ambitions to be a writer or been unsupportive, that I look at now and think at least I’m trying. I’m not moping around complaining about money, whinging that I am bored or have a lack of interests. Many non writers believe that striving to become an author is all about the money. Erm, no. I don’t want to speak for every other writer, but that is the last thing on my mind on how much money it will bring in. I write because it’s one of the best feelings in the world and I want to try and give readers an escape from life and to get lost in a few words. It also allows me to live a thousand lives on a regular basis. Just last night I was a good looking guy with a decent physique – our writing allows us to create fantasies! 

This song has given me a few ideas for a future story and just leaves me feeling happy.

So please read through the lyrics and then if you get chance to, listen to the song. 

  
I sit here everyday, watchin’ you rush away
I write down what you wear
Words in prose of skirts and suits
In blues and greys, such bad taste

Your runnin’ when it rains,
Too late to catch the train
The work just has to wait
Most of you i’ve learned to recognize by sight
As you walk by

I write it down in rhymes about your busy lives
Invisible to you, a mirror of the edges of society
Rich in poverty

I’m the outsider, the observer
The outcast, the word conserver
I’m inspired by the streets
Some day it will be in my biograffiti

I’m just recitin’ my street poetry
Might mean nothin’ much to you,
But it’s the whole world to me
I’m just recitin’ my street poetry
Might mean nothin’ much to you,
But it’s the whole world to me
Nothin’ much to you,
But it’s the whole world to me

That guy has got a mortgage
And children, bet they’re gorgeous
But as i read his eyes i know he’s unhappy
With his greedy wife and his daily life

I’ve seen the grey masses, slaves to higher classes
Someday somewhere somehow
Someone will release my book of poetry
Or at least a piece

I’m the outsider, the observer
The outcast, the word conserver
I’m inspired by the streets
Some day it will be in my biograffiti

I’m just recitin’ my street poetry
Might mean nothin’ much to you,
But it’s the whole world to me
I’m just recitin’ my street poetry
Might mean nothin’ much to you,
But it’s the whole world to me
Nothin’ much to you,
But it’s the whole world to me
Recitin’ my street poetry

I’m just a writer of street poetry
Might mean nothin’ much to you
But it’s everything to me 

2 thoughts on “Song of the week

  1. I’ve never heard of this band before but I am definitely going to check them out now! These lyrics are so empowering. Thank you for sharing it.
    And never let anyone derail you in your dreams. Writing for money removes all the thrill, all the excitement. You have to write because it’s what you love to do! Through your words, I can feel your passion for writing, and I hope that you never lose that 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

