Magicians House – Sunday Serial

  
It’s time for the next part of the Professor Hokum story. This is a short one but soon I will have a little extra time to make these longer. 

So it continues on from last Sunday’s.

                          Magicians House

The building was known as the Magicians House.

It stood on one storey and from the exterior it looked shabby and diseased. The bricks were flaking and stained and the guttering had been cracked many years before and never fixed. 

On the inside, Evie wandered around Professor Hokum’s office with her mouth in awe, pawing at the wealth of books, reluctant to hold them in case she did damage to the preserved tomes. 

“I have never seen anything quite like it. I would always run away to the library before closing and hide. They would never find me and I would have a place to read and sleep. Whoever said living it rough was all bad never tried that,” Evie said running her finger tips over the books.

Evie had explained to the Professor that she had no family, no job or any life, and had been busking since she was fourteen. She had a talent with a guitar but not so much with her voice. 

Professor Hokum had felt the anxiety that radiated off her when he offered to put her up. He had promised to give her time before he explained anything and he would be willing to teach her the way of the world. He didn’t ask about who her family were or where she had come from. Professor Hokum knew it didn’t matter.

“Evelyn,” Professor Hokum called her name and was met with piercing eyes.

“That’s not my name and I don’t know where you got it from. Call me Evie.” She was stern and confident, her eyes dark and brooding.

Hokum agreed and nodded. “I think it’s time that we spoke about why you were dropped on my door step. I think it’s time you knew the reason. I would like us to go for a walk.”

Since the night she was brought to the Magicians House, she had not dared to exit, in fear of the horrors that led her to the Professors. 

“Trust me, seeing is believing and without it, you will think I am one crazy nut job. It would be good for you to get the fresh air. Don’t worry, no harm will come to you.”

Evie scoffed at his words. Professor Hokum exited the room waving for her to follow and turned right into a box room which had turned into a walk in wardrobe. He pulled the light cord that lit the room up. Everything had been put away and there was nothing but doors and mirrors on show. He heard Evie walk in and made her wait in the doorway.

“I don’t think I’m up for going out.”

“I’m afraid you have no choice. You need to see before you hear,” Professor Hokum said as he rifled through a wardrobe until he found what he was after. 

Evie looked on with curious eyes as he held the object of his desire up towards her. She could easily see what it was but no words came out. 

“Tonight Evie, I’d like to introduce you to your destiny.”

12 thoughts on “Magicians House – Sunday Serial

  1. AAAAHHHHH!!!!!!! (That’s the thought going through my head right now). This was so great and I need the rest now! How can you do this to me, Al? I thought we were friends.

    I’ll be looking forward to some more from this story! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am loving this story more and more, all the intrigue! Is it next week, yet? I really can’t wait for the next part to find out more about Evie and Hokum. Your words flow so smoothly. A truly enjoyable read πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

