Word & Song of the week

  So this is the first official post of Word of the Week/Song of the week. I hope you all are nice and dandy (yep – I said dandy).

WORD OF THE WEEK:

So my word of the week is Replenish. 

  
I start with this word as many many many moons ago I was at work and training a new employee the ways of a job. Iwas running through a procedure when this word comes up. It baffled me as I had never heard this word in my life, or if I had, did not recognise it.

I asked my trainee if they had any idea on what it meant, and after some guesswork, I realised it meant to fill up the tray with the similar product again. I then wobbled away to the office, hit the amazing Google button (I prefer a dictionary and thesaurus but hard to come by even over seven years ago) and confirmed my suspicions. I was annoyed as I got stung by this one word and then made it my goal to learn new words on a daily basis and look into the synonyms for each word. It’s a hearty ambition and I know I won’t get through every word but I like to learn.

I also realised that day, no matter the way we speak, the words we use or the inability to grasp phrases others use, we are all fucking human. I have never felt disheartened by a word I have not understood again and now encourage others to question words and never feel stupid for asking. (There are a few people that I know deliberately use words in front of my friends or colleagues just to make them feel small and that person to be superior. Words were definitely not designed for that). 

Life is full of learning opportunities and we should embrace it, be it words, new foods and drinks or be it whatever. Let’s enjoy this opportunity as I am sure many of you do! I love reading books and stories with words I get to learn from so I can fit alternatives in my own life when it is necessary. 

I am not against people using elaborate words but some just use them for evil. 

Sorry if that came across as a rant :s I promise next week will be full of rainbows and bunnies…oh and darkness.

SONG OF THE WEEK
 
Let’s leave this on a light note shall we. I am a lover of music and find it motivating.So this week my song choice is…….

Beauty and the Beast – Be our guest

  
The film is my favourite Disney film and one of my all time favourites. I have been singing (very badly) this song over and over this past week until it drives my wife nuts, my friends bonkers and eventually gives myself a headache. 

I will not add the lyrics to this one, but ask you, to go away and listen to it and see how it leaves you. 

It leaves me feeling rejuvenated and like I can do a jig. 

And on that note, I hope you all have a fantastic day πŸ™‚ 

11 thoughts on “Word & Song of the week

  1. It’s amazing how certain words or phrases can elude us. I remember when I was fourteen I had written something for school and my teacher told me that the saying I was going for was ‘for all intents and purposes’. I had written ‘for all intensive purposes’. I had no idea!

    Also, us Cornish say ‘Where did you go to?’ or “Where did you find that to?’ I was about 23 when a relative from London asked me why we add ‘to’ at the end of certain questions. I thought I was speaking the Queen’s English. haha. I will also ask a question, and end it with ‘or no?’ I know it’s wrong, but that’s just how we talk down ‘ere.

    ‘You wan’ a cup tea, or no?’ (I bet you can’t say it without impersonating a Cornish accent!!!)

    Just had a listen to Be Our Guest!- I LOVE Disney!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It is amazing how things elude us like that. It’s fascinating to hear a little bit more about the Cornish sayings and things. It can be fascinating the differences between counties. Newcastle always was a fun one to try and master when I visited and my Geordie girlfriend at the time had to educate me.
      I tried saying it! (I think I just impersonated and offended every Cornish person haha – my bad, luckily I was on my own)
      Disney is amazing!!! Glad you went to have a listen.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Most people who impersonate the accent sound like they’re doing a Devon accent πŸ™‚

        One more tidbit. If a Cornish person says your bleddy rich, it doesn’t mean wealthy it means -bloody lush, lovely etc πŸ˜‰ I am so tempted to write it on comments etc, but I have to remind myself that not everyone understands me haha.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. As you can probably tell by my Wordly Wise Wednesday, I am a huge proponent of learning words and their origins. Replenish is a great word! I love being a student of the world. It’s my favourite occupation after writer. I look forward to many many more πŸ™‚
    Also, Beauty and the Beast is everything I ever need to make my day πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post! It’s fun learning new words which is one of the reasons I own so many dictionaries and reference books. Sometimes I’ll just open one up and start reading for fun. (I didn’t have a ton of friends growing up, if you couldn’t already tell.)
    I agree with you about people using words for evil. When people use their vocabulary to hurt or belittle others, it just shows everyone around them that can use a “ten cent word while having two cent brain”. — A little southern-ism for you. I’ll sometimes use “ten cent” words just for a change, a way to mix things up but I never do it in a malicious fashion. Words are supposed to help not hurt. I wish more people would remember that.
    Be Our Guest is one of the best musical numbers in Disney history and the animation is spectacular. The WHOLE damn movie is spectacular and go to whenever I’m in need of a smile. There are worse songs to have stuck in your head… (I’m sure you have a lovely singing voice.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment on this post.
      I was very similar to you and did the same with reference books and encyclopaedias.
      I like the Southern-ism πŸ™‚ I enjoy using “ten cent” words like you, just to spice things up a little.
      It is an amazing song and a beautiful and glorious film that I could watch over and over πŸ™‚ (I wouldn’t call it a singing voice, more a monotonous racket πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Disney songs always make for good posts ^^ When I was studying at uni about half my course was obsessed with Disney, me included so I love your song choice! Although, did you know, I’ve only seen Beauty and the Beast once, I think!

    Good choice of word, too. I come across ones I don’t know the meaning of but feel like I should every now and again, too. I did know replenish, but as you said – we’re only human and there are a lot of words in the dictionary. I’m looking forward to learning some new words through you πŸ™‚ You can never know too many!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

