A writers life

   
This post came to me whilst driving a long in the car. 

I will back track. I spotted a person along the promenade on a misty day looking out to the sea. The person was alone and got me thinking of their story. In two minutes I had a full story set and I was excited. Blast forward five minutes and this post came to mind. 

Isn’t it amazing when something like that happens? Having the ability to transform a blank space into something within moments is a magnificent gift.

It leaves me in a euphoric state. It brightens up the day even when it is gloomy outside. I could have the worst possible day, but as a writer, I look at turning it into a positive.

I am always interested in how stories come about and the impetus that pushed them to fulfil the story. Many of mine usually starts with a question and then I write without a plan in mind, allowing the characters full reign. 

I always have a set word count for a day that I strive to meet but when there are no words appearing, I allow it it fester and usually with a little sleep, it resumes. Then the fun begins again.

I write at all times of the day but morning and night are my usual target times. I look to start the morning with the characters, allow them to build during the day, and then like any thing, put them to bed. Characters need their rest too. 

I enjoy background noise whilst writing, mainly being music. It also could avoid a noisy coffee shop or television in the background. I then get so engrossed in writing that when I eventually pop my head up, an hour or more has passed. Getting absorbed in a story is like watching another life and it’s so exciting. 

In my stories, I try to avoid using names of people that I know and any resemblances towards them. I find it strange and even stranger when I am asked to name a character after someone. I only have one word to say to them – No! 

But I am not against anyone else in doing so as we are all individuals and can be nice tributes when used in the correct way.

  
Do you have any methods you use to come up with stories? Do they come in question form? Do you have a set word count? I’m very interested in hearing stories from writers. If you have any questions around any of the things I have mentioned please just ask or if there is anything else you would like to know. 

13 thoughts on “A writers life

  1. I don’t use people’s names either. Mainly, I scan my bookshelves for names ’cause I suck at name. Purchasing Scrivener was worth the price just for the name generator πŸ˜€ I try to avoid writing any kind of similarities in descriptions as well but sometimes it does have a way of sneaking in there…oops πŸ™‚
    I’m constantly writing in my head and will go off on super long bunny trails and get lost for embarrassing amounts of time :-/ It is fun to be inspired by something random. I love imagining stranger’s background stories; it’s my favorite way to pass the time in the airport or when waiting in line.
    Great post. Love learning about your writing process!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Is Scrivener good? How much time do you have? πŸ˜‰ Short answer: yes, it is VERY good. It is an organizational freak’s dream. I don’t know how I ever wrote without it. It is great for keeping my blog posts organized. They offer a 30 day trial so it’s worth checking out. If you have more questions just ask… Oh and there’s a screenplay function, so that’s something to consider.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. My method of coming up with stories is just living πŸ™‚ Much like your own experience, I find that most of my stories are inspired by captured moments of emotions or scenes or landscapes and from there, the rest just flows. That’s why I have a backlog of about 100+ stories… Oh woes of writers ;P I don’t normally set word counts. I write until the story is done.
    Thanks for sharing your own journeys in writing πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  3. My stories all start with characters, and opening scenes. They pop into my head at all sorts of times from all over the place. For example one character sprang out from a guy I saw walking through the city, his facial structure was fae-like and my mind ran with it. Another came up when I was walking some dogs and I had the scene of a shifter running and hiding, it unfurled from there. Sometimes it’ll be a piece of architecture, a facial expression, a scent, a sound, so many options.

    I try and avoid setting word counts because they’re more likely to stress me out to be completely honest. I write when I write and that’s that lol.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for sharing. It is amazing when these stories come out of nowhere by something randomly occurring! I love the stories you have just shared. How do you feel when the story comes together like that?
      I have set myself a word count for the day and have found it getting quite stressful lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s the best feeling when it all unfurls like that, unless I’m away from my laptop or a notebook and can’t write it down, then I can to cling onto the details. It’s like I step into the story, it’s really vivid and wonderful.

        I’ve tried to many times to do the wordcount thing, I did NaNoWriMo 4 times, it’s not good for me lol. I don’t write every day, I do write quickly, so it works out πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  4. This was a really interesting post – I agree, it’s amazing how something small we notice during the day can get your mind racing with ideas! I don’t use names of people I know either, and while I haven’t been asked to put someone in my book I wouldn’t. Unless I hate someone so much I want to murder a character based on them it’s not going to happen.
    This post has reminded me of this lady I used to see almost every day many years ago. I always thought she looked familiar (we’re talking really familiar) but I never knew why and then one day I no longer saw her. Thanks for the inspiration πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for taking the time to read the post and for sharing the things that you do as well. It’s always fun to toy with the idea of putting someone you really hate in the book. Sounds fascinating about the lady…the stories that could come out of that πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

