Napkin: A short, short story

This short, short story was written under strict time restraints and the first line was offered by Paul Tingey (@paultingey on Twitter). 

I found the first line quite difficult to move on from but finally managed to get my head around it and I chose a genre unfamiliar to me as a test.

I hope you enjoy.

                                   Napkin

My napkin flew in the wind.

I panicked like any normal person would. It contained the number of the prettiest girl at work. Her name was Jou. She had worked in administration for the planning department for the last five years and was moving up to the north of the country for development purposes. She had the most beautiful smile. Her eyes were big and brown, her lips small, her skin soft with an amber complexion and she had the longest and smoothest legs. That was the joy of the summer. It was always skirt weather for her.

I had spent many days searching the web for her, checking to see if she had a Facebook or Twitter account or used any other social media outlet that I could trace her too. In the age of technology I did not think it would be too difficult. 

As I found out on her last day, she thought social media was a bore, phones a distraction and email accounts a pathetic waste of time. Not only was she gorgeous, but she was an intellectual goddess.

We had spoken briefly over the years and got to know each other well. On the last day, I braved it and asked for her details to keep in touch. This was where she denied as there were no means, but offered me a link to her parents who lived in the north. She begged that I did not pass it out to anyone else to which I agreed. It turned out that I was the only person in the five years she worked there that she could tolerate.

That compliment was also my biggest downfall. As the napkin flew from my hand and along the sea front, I realised that was my only link to Jou. So I ran. I ran towards the sandy beach at full speed, the napkin blowing in the wind, first high, then low, and then level with my eye line. Every time I took three streps, the napkin blew four, edging closer and closer to the water. 

I increased my stride, gaining on the napkin with each step. It was within touching distance, I could feel it, and then –

I was head first in the sand, body slumped over and foot in pain. I rolled over to find that I had been defeated by a stray pebble. I looked ahead of me and there was no sign of the napkin. It was gone. 

I reached over and threw the pebble in frustration. Some things are just not meant to be.

10 thoughts on “Napkin: A short, short story

    1. The napkin prompt made me reminisce about how things use to be before social networking and phones and remembered losing jotted down information ๐Ÿ™‚ Much easier to store it on a phone or device now ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Thank you – glad you enjoyed it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh yes, I best sssh! It does make me feel slightly old haha. I’m not on Facebook but I am glad too. Many people miss out on the simpler things. Some still question how children use to meet up at school before phones and social media…a lot more effort went in to things.
        Apologises, it seems I’m having a rather verbose day!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I think it was just one of those days yesterdays, I had my rant head on too.

        Yes, kids today think it’s hard to stick to the 140 characters on a Tweet. I can remember trying to get everything I needed to say into one 10p text message. And let’s not forget how many times we had to press the number 7 to get an’S’ hahaha!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. It’s good to get a rant out.
        Oh yes and needing to abbreviate every word so it cost less – the times two or three messages went through only the first one would send! Ah our problems!
        Hahah I remember pressing the number 7 repeatedly and going too far and starting again!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

